my manifesto

today i was inspired by the manifesto of a yoga clothing company, lululemon, to write down a list of my long-term goals.

make no mistake, this is not a “new year’s resolution” sort of task. i hate new year’s resolutions – no one ever sticks with them and they usually focus on unobtainable weight-related goals. mine will be different.

i have never actually written anything like this down. i’ve made countless grocery lists, shopping lists, packing lists and to-do lists. long-term goals sometimes scare me because it’s often hard to make promises to yourself so far in advance of when you might actually be able to reach them. however, they are a great way to focus yourself and get back some things in your life that you’ve lost sight of while you’ve been busy worrying about short-term deadlines and projects.

so, i took a deep breath and jotted them down.

after writing my goals on paper, i realized that I’ve always had many of these in the back of my mind, but somewhere within the past few years between finishing college and finding a job to filling out law school applications and studying for the lsat, they got forgotten. this has become a vicious cycle – between letting the stresses of everyday life get in the way of these goals and then fighting for them back. writing these goals down may help break this cycle (the same sort of cycle i wrote about here) …

goals.JPG

One Response

  1. I have a hard time with Number 1 under your personal goals.
    It can be very tough, but I have found solace in this famous prayer.

    God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot
    change, courage to change the things I can, and the
    wisdom to know the difference.

Leave a Reply

