i’ve been waiting for this to happen…

stem cell research. it’s an often annoyingly painful debate, hotly contested by politicians, citizens & scientists everywhere.

personally, i don’t feel scientifically-versed enough to take a side. i wouldn’t call it apathy, but more like an awareness of my ignorance – a level of awareness so high that i feel unable to argue one side or the other. to be honest, the ethical issues involving stem cell research give me stomach aches but the loss of scientific advancements due to a hault in research gives me a headache. so i ask myself: stomach-pain or head-throbbing? it’s a difficult question to answer. so i lay moderately in the middle.

it seems that NOt ONE politician or scientist agrees with me. hence, the constant public squabbles.

BUT…

recently, scientists have turned human skin cells into what appear to be embryonic stem cells, possibly (this is a highly-assumed “possibly”) easing the political debate.

read more…

thankgoodness. thankgoodness. thankgoodness. it’s a step in the right direction, at least.

2 Responses

  1. Amen, I agree with you.

  2. I too, do not feel that I am well versed enough to take a side with enough knowledge to back up my stance. However what I can say is that what I do believe strongly about, and what is the cause for much of the political debates, is whether stem cell research should recieve public, government funding. And on this issue I am opposed. I think that if individuals and private organizations want to fund their programs to continue their research then fine- but do not use tax payers’ money to fund these projects. I watched this being debated on the House floor from the Gallery above and strongly believe that in matters of controversey, that the government does not have a place being involved- I think it is overstepping their boundary and intented role in society.

Leave a Reply

